Selkirk Final Agreement

On 18 July 1817 Lord Selkirk signed the contract with five leaders, called in the document “Chiefs and Warriors of the Chippeaway or Sautaux Nation, and the Killistine or Cree Nation.” It is widely known as the Selkirk Contract. This is the first formal written agreement in Western Canada for the recognition of Aboriginal land rights. It was replaced by Treaty I in 1871. Lord Selkirk called the district of Assiniboia and planned to create an agricultural colony. To do so, it has populated the region with impoverished people from Scotland and Ireland. Lord Selkirk was deeply irritated by the poverty his people faced and believed that emigration to Western Canada would be his salvation. [3] In return, he was to provide The Hudson`s Bay Company with 200 employees per year, to enable the company to create commercial positions in the colony and to give land to the company`s employees when they retired. In 1812, the first settlers arrived when Miles MacDonell brought a small group of Scots to the colony. The current final agreement between the Government of Canada, the Selkirk Nation and the Yukon Government s. 35 of the Constitution of Canada is an agreement that defines the rights of the First Nation and its people and, in particular, how federal, territorial and First Nation governments interact.

Chapter 11 deals with land use planning, which states that its objectives are: 1) to promote the development of a common Yukon land use planning process outside of community boundaries; 2) to minimise land use conflicts, real or potential, both within the country of settlement and the non-established country, as well as between the country of residence and the non-established country; 3) to recognize and promote the cultural values of the Indian people of Yukon; 4) Use yukon Indian Er`s knowledge and experience to achieve effective land use; 5) Recognize the responsibilities of Yukon First Nations under the Colony Development and Management Comparison Agreements; and 6) ensure that social, cultural, economic and environmental policies are applied in an integrated and coordinated manner to the management, protection and exploitation of land, water and resources to ensure sustainable development. The text consists of 28 chapters: Definitions (1); general provisions (2); Eligibility and registration (3); reserves and fallow areas (4); rental and management of residential land (5); Access (6); expropriation (7); Surface board (8); amount of residential land (9); Special administrative areas (10); Land use planning (11); Development Assessment (12); Cultural heritage (13); Water management (14); Defining boundaries and measuring residential areas (15); fish and wildlife (16); forest resources (17); non-renewable resources (18); financial compensation (19); taxes (20); taxation of residential land (21); Economic development measures (22); Granting resource royalties (23); Yukon Indian Self-Management (24); cross-border agreements (25); Dispute resolution (26); Yukon Fish and Wildlife Enhancement Trust (27); Implementation and training in the implementation of the regulation (28). Two annexes are attached.

Esta entrada fue publicada en Sin categoría. Guarda el enlace permanente.